Media Release #13

Dublin 2019 - An Irish Worldcon
Dublin, Ireland
August 15-19, 2019
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Hugo Nominations open; Jim Fitzpatrick, Eleanor Wheeler and Sara Felix to design awards

     The nominating period has begun for the 2019 Hugo Awards and 1944 Retro Hugo Awards to be presented at Dublin 2019 – An Irish Worldcon.

     Worldcon members are encouraged to nominate up to five works/individuals that they believe are worthy of a Hugo in each category. The six most popular nominees in each category will appear on the final voting ballot.

     The Hugos are the most prestigious award in the science fiction genre, honouring literature and media as well as fan activities. The awards were first presented in 1953.

     All members eligible to nominate may do so online by using individual links, which will be e-mailed out over the next few days, or by paper ballot, included with Dublin 2019’s Progress Report 3 and also separately downloadable from the convention’s website.

     All nomination ballots must be submitted electronically by March 16, 2019 06:59 UTC (11:59 pm Pacific Daylight Time on 15 March) or, if paper, received by mail by 15 March 2019.

     Eligible voters for the nominations process must have purchased membership in Dublin 2019 – An Irish Worldcon by December 31, 2018, or have been a member of Worldcon 76 in San Jose. Worldcon members who are uncertain of their status should contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

     Dublin 2019 is inviting nominations in a special Hugo category this year: Best Art Book. Voters will also have the opportunity to nominate in two non-Hugo categories for 2019: the Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book, and the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer.

     The final ballot will be announced in early April. Only Dublin 2019 members will be able to vote on the final ballot and choose the winners. The 1944 Retro Hugo Awards will be presented on Thursday, August 15, the opening night of Dublin 2019, and the 2019 Hugo Awards, and the Lodestar and Campbell Awards, will be presented on Sunday, August 18.

     The 2019 Hugo base will be designed by Jim Fitzpatrick. Based in Dublin, he is famous for his Celtic art, in particular for his publications The Book of Conquests, The Silver Arm, The Children of Lir (with Michael Scott) and Erinsaga; and also for his album covers for Thin Lizzy and Sinéad O’Connor. Perhaps his best known work is his iconic 1968 portrait of Che Guevara.

     The 1944 Retro Hugo base will be designed by Eleanor Wheeler. She is an architectural and sculptural ceramicist who has created large scale art for public spaces including at the Market Square in Armagh and the Gasworks, the Mater Hospital and Drumglass Park in Belfast.  She lives in County Down and has had numerous solo exhibitions, drawing on her travels locally as well as throughout Asia, Africa and Europe for inspiration.

     The 2019 Lodestar Award will be designed by Sara Felix. She is the current president of the Association of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists, and created the 2018 WSFS Young Adult Award, as well as the 2018 and 2016 Hugo bases. Her home is Austin, Texas.

Artist websites:

     Jim Fitzpatrick (Hugo Awards)

     Dr Eleanor Wheeler (Retro Hugo Awards)

     Sara Felix (Lodestar Award)

More information about the Hugo Awards, including details about how to submit a nominating ballot: .

Any questions about the Hugo Awards process should be directed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Dublin 2019 – An Irish Worldcon will take place in and around the Convention Centre Dublin from August 15 to August 19.

More information and membership registration for Dublin 2019 are available at Follow us on Twitter at @dublin2019.

To subscribe or unsubscribe to media releases, complete the form at or write to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


“World Science Fiction Society,” “WSFS,” “World Science Fiction Convention,” “Worldcon,” “NASFiC,” “Hugo Award,” the Hugo Award Logo, and the distinctive design of the Hugo Award Trophy Rocket are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society.

The World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon) is a five-day event that has been held
annually since 1939, apart from a four-year break during the Second World War.